What are the basic building blocks of the nervous system?

What are the basic building blocks of the nervous system?

A neuron is a nerve cell that is the basic building block of the nervous system. Neurons are similar to other cells in the human body in a number of ways, but there is one key difference between neurons and other cells. Neurons are specialized to transmit information throughout the body.

What are the basic elements of the nervous system?

The nervous system has two main parts: The central nervous system is made up of the brain and spinal cord. The peripheral nervous system is made up of nerves that branch off from the spinal cord and extend to all parts of the body.

What are the 3 basic neurons?

For the spinal cord though, we can say that there are three types of neurons: sensory, motor, and interneurons.

  • Sensory neurons.
  • Motor neurons.
  • Interneurons.
  • Neurons in the brain.

What are the basic building blocks of heredity?

Psychology Chapter 3 Vocabulary

heredity genetic transmission of traits from one generation to the next
genes basic building blocks of heredity
chromosomes microscopic threadlike structure in the nucleus of every living cell that contains a nucleus

What is a tubelike structure of neurons?

Dendrites are the tree-like structures in neurons that extend away from the cell body to receive messages from other neurons at synapses; not all neurons have dendrites. Axons are tube-like structures that send signals to other neurons, muscles, or organs; not all neurons have axons

What are the structural components of CNS?

The CNS consists of the two major structures: the brain and spinal cord. The brain is encased in the skull, and protected by the cranium. The spinal cord is continuous with the brain and lies caudally to the brain. It is protected by the vertebrae.

What are the four basic components of a neuron?

Introduction: The brain is made up of about 86 billion nerve cells (also called “neurons”). A neuron has 4 basic parts: the dendrites, the cell body (also called the “soma”), the axon and the axon terminal. Dendrites – Extensions from the neuron cell body that take information to the cell body.

What are the four parts of the nervous system?

The nervous system consists of the brain, spinal cord, sensory organs, and all of the nerves that connect these organs with the rest of the body. Together, these organs are responsible for the control of the body and communication among its parts

Which is the largest part of brain?


What happen to the body when one organ is not working properly?

Organ failure is when a major organ stops working. Major organs that can fail include the brain, heart, lungs, kidneys, liver and intestines (gut). If one of these organs stops working, the patient will not be able to survive without the help of very strong medicines and/or machines.