How far does a catcher have to throw to second base?
How far does the catcher have to throw the ball to reach second base? Round your answer to the nearest foot. b. The catcher throws the ball at a rate of 90 feet per second when the player is 30 feet away from second base.
What is the distance between home plate and first base?
What is the distance between first and second base?
When location of home base is determined, with a steel tape measure 127 feet, 3 3/8 inches in desired direction to establish second base. From home base, measure 90 feet toward first base; from second base, measure 90 feet toward first base; the intersection of these lines establishes first base.
What is the distance between home plate and second base in softball?
Softball Field Dimensions
|Home to Second||91′ 11”||84′ 10”|
|Home to Front of Rubber||50′||43′|
|Radius of Skinned Infield||65′||60′|
|Home Plate to Backstop||25′ min||25′ min|
What is the distance between each base in softball?
Which base is opposite to the home plate?
Who throws the ball to the opposing team to hit?
What is the position called between 2nd and 3rd base?
What happens if you have 2 strikes and you hit the ball foul?
If the batter already has two strikes against him when he hits a foul ball, a strike is not issued unless the ball was bunted to become a foul ball, in which case a third strike is issued and a strikeout recorded for the batter and pitcher. However, the caught ball is in play and base runners may attempt to advance.
Can you bunt with 2 strikes?
(For those not familiar with the game: with two strikes, a foul ball does not count as the third strike… unless it is an attempted bunt that goes foul. For this reason, purposely attempting to bunt with two strikes is rare, but teams will do this in some rare circumstances.)
How many balls does a hitter get before they walk?
Why are there 4 Strikes and 3 strikes?
At the time, only every third “unfair pitch” was called a ball, meaning that a batter could only walk after nine pitches out of the strike zone. As time went on, the rule was dropped to eight balls, then seven, and so-on until four balls were settled on by the league in 1889.
Can you balk with nobody on base?
Rule 8.05(e) Comment: A quick pitch is an illegal pitch. Umpires will judge a quick pitch as one delivered before the batter is reasonably set in the batter’s box. With runners on base the penalty is a balk; with no runners on base, it is a ball. The quick pitch is dangerous and should not be permitted.
How do you tell if a pitch is a ball or a strike?
A “full count” is when there are 3 balls and 2 strikes, or a 3-2 count. When determining whether a pitch is a ball or a strike, the umpire uses a strike zone. The ball must be within the strike zone to be called a strike. The strike zone has changed over time.
How many strikes until you’re out?
Is it a strike if you don’t swing?
If a batter does not swing and is struck by a pitch, the batter automatically is awarded first base. If the batter is struck by a pitch that is in the strike zone, the pitch is a strike and the batter is not awarded first base (hit-by-pitch).
How many fouls is an out?
In NBA, players are allowed to commit 6 fouls, before being fouled out. Only after the player commits his 6th foul, will he be asked to leave the game. This is little different as compared to high school and college basketball, where players are fouled out after committing 5 fouls.
What does 3 strikes mean in baseball?
Can a bounced pitch be a strike?
The ball can be batted and if the batter is touched by the bounced pitch, he is awarded first base on a hit by pitch. But a pitch that bounces on the ground and goes through the strike zone is a “ball,” and a bounced pitch cannot be caught for strike three unless first base is occupied and there are less than two outs.
How many foul balls is a strike?
with 2 strikes
What happens if the catcher misses the ball?
If the catcher catches the ball, either on the fly or on the first bound, then the batter is out. This is no different from if any fielder had caught a batted ball. If the catcher fails to catch the ball, the batter runs for first base, just as if a batted ball had gone uncaught.
Why does the catcher throw to first after a strikeout?
After a strikeout, it is common for catchers to throw the ball to third base. Throwing the ball around shakes things up for the fielders and helps keep them on their toes. Throwing the ball to third also keeps the infielders’ arms loose for throwing.
Is a passed ball an error?
A passed ball is not recorded as an error, but when a run scores as the result of a passed ball, it does not count as an earned run against a pitcher. If a runner advances on a passed ball, he is not credited with a stolen base.
Can you run on a dropped third strike with bases loaded?
A batter may advance on a dropped third strike with the bases loaded, if there are two outs. Coaches teach their catchers to pick up the dropped ball, and step on home plate in this situation, which is a force out of the runner from third. No throw required, eliminates the chance of an over throw at first base.
Does a battery have to move on a throw to third?
The short answer is “nothing.” Unless the batter makes a movement that hinders the catcher, or otherwise intentionally impedes using his body or bat, the batter is pretty much immune from interference if he remains still in the batter’s box. If the catcher’s throw hits the batter, then just play on.
What is the dropped third strike rule?
This rule applies when first base is open, or if there are two outs. If the batter strikes out (swinging or looking) and the catcher does not catch the pitch before it hits the ground, the batter can run to first base.
Is it a dead ball if it hits a runner?
Ball is dead, and batter-runner is awarded first base. The fact that the runner had contact with the base when struck with the batted ball has no bearing on the play. (An exception to this is when the runner is hit by an Infield Fly while on base.)
What happens if a base runner gets hit by a thrown ball?
Runner touched by a thrown ball If a runner is touched by a thrown ball and you judge the contact to be intentional, then call “Time” (dead ball), call the offending runner out, and return other runners (if any) to the base last legally acquired at the time the interference occurred.
What happens if a ball hits a runner?
If a baserunner is hit by a fair batted ball while standing on a base, the runner is out, unless the ball has already passed an infielder or the infield fly rule has been declared.
Can you throw the ball at a runner in kickball?
The kicker contacts the ball beyond the Kick Line. If a legally kicked ball does not cross the Bunt Line. Tagging the runner out or throwing the ball at the runner and hitting him/her between bases (if, in the attempt to get the runner out, a thrown ball hits the ground before striking the runner, NO out will be made).